As part of the College of Medicine, STU works in collaboration with three Health Boards across South West Wales:

  • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board with headquarters in Swansea
  • Hywel Dda University Health Board (HDd UHB) with headquarters in Carmarthen
  • Cardiff & Vale University Health Board (CV UHB) with headquarters in Cardiff.

STU sits within the Patient & Population Health and Informatics (PPHI) research theme which is one of the four major research themes of the School of Medicine. PPHI is a multidisciplinary research centre conducting research in health informatics, health care and population health studies.

 STU is funded by the the Welsh Government's Division for Social Care and Health Research through their Health and Care Research Wales organisation, who also fund other Clinical Trials Units across Wales:

  • NWORTH (North Wales Organisation for Randomised Trials in Health and Social Care)
  • CTR Centre for Trials Research based within the Cardiff University 
  • WCTU (Wales Cancer Trials Unit) within the Cardiff University based Centre for Trials Research